MONTCLAIR PUBLIC SCHOOLS



MONTCLAIR, NEW JERSEY SPECIAL MEETING HELD ON

THURSDAY, JUNE 8, 2017 AT 6:30 PM 22 VALLEY ROAD, MONTCLAIR, NEW JERSEY

MINUTES OF THE SPECIAL MEETING HELD THURSDAY, JUNE 8, 2017 AT 6:30 PM 22 VALLEY ROAD, MONTCLAIR, NEW JERSEY

- A. CALL TO ORDER at 6:45 pm
- **B. STATEMENTS**
 - 1. Meeting Notice
- C. ROLL CALL

	AYE	NAY	ABSTAIN	ABSENT
Laura Hertzog	x			
Jevon Caldwell-Gross				х
Jessica de Koninck	7:40 pm			x
Joseph Kavesh	7:25- 8:30, 8:50 pm			х
Anne Mernin	Х			
Eve Robinson	X			
Franklin Turner	Х			

Staff Members	0
Members of the Public	0
Members of the Press	0

D. RESOLUTION FOR EXECUTIVE SESSION

Anne Mernin moved to approve the following resolution:

WHEREAS, the Open Public Meetings Act, N.J.S.A.10:4-12, permits the Board of Education to meet in closed session to discuss certain matters,

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, the Board of Education adjourns to closed session to discuss:

any matter involving the employment, appointment, termination of employment, terms and conditions of employment, evaluation of the performance of, promotion or disciplining of any specific prospective public officer or employee or current public officer or employee employed or appointed by the public body, unless all the individual employees or appointees whose rights could be adversely affected request in writing that such matter or matters be discussed at a public meeting

AND BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, the minutes of this closed session be made public when the need for confidentiality no longer exists.

Seconded by Franklin Turner and approved by a vote of 4-0

	AYE	NAY	ABSTAIN	ABSENT
Laura Hertzog	x			
Jevon Caldwell-Gross				х
Jessica de Koninck				х
Joseph Kavesh				Х
Anne Mernin	Х			
Eve Robinson	X			
Franklin Turner	Х			

- E. EXECUTIVE SESSION
- F. RETURN TO OPEN SESSION at 9:30 pm
- G. HUMAN RESOURCES

Franklin Turner moved to approve the following resolution:

RESOLVED, that the Board of Education approve, that after a Donaldson hearing
and only to the extent Kim Westervelt will not receive tenure during the 2017-2018
school year, she shall be re-appointed for the 2017-2018 school year.

Seconded by Laura Hertzog and approved by a vote of 4-2-1

	AYE	NAY	ABSTAIN	ABSENT
Laura Hertzog	x			
Jevon Caldwell-Gross				X
Jessica de Koninck	X			
Joseph Kavesh		x		
Anne Mernin		x		
Eve Robinson	Х			
Franklin Turner	X			

H. ADJOURNMENT at 9:45 pm

Eve Robinson moved to adjourn

Seconded by Joe Kavesh and approved by a vote of 6-0

	AYE	NAY	ABSTAIN	ABSENT
Laura Hertzog	X			
Jevon Caldwell-Gross				х
Jessica de Koninck	X			
Joseph Kavesh	Х			
Anne Mernin	X			
Eve Robinson	Х			
Franklin Turner	х			